The All Ireland Inter-Schools’ Sailing competition was held on Sunday the 13th of September by Sutton Dinghy Club.
Belvedere College had several teams.


Optimist Class
An early briefing on Sunday and with a fresh wind of 10-15kts, the PRO’S launched both fleets and racing was underway before 11am. Mixed Fleet PRO Jim Lambkin with 57 boats on split start lines either side of the Committee boat managed 4 clean starts with the faster boats doing 3 rounds of the course each time and the slower dinghies doing 2 rounds.

The top end of the fleet didn’t disappoint with close racing between Blackrock Colleges Ewan McMahon, Santa Sabina’s Aoife Hopkins and Belvedere Colleges Alex and Jamie O’Grady. With each boat type handicapped differently each sailor knows its not always first on the water and each is keenly aware of how other boats are doing.
Sutton Dinghy Clubs top Mirror sailor Conor Twohig & Brian Sheehy, recently runner up in the Mirror Nationals was always going to be a threat despite being slower on the water. With each team (max of 3 and minimum of 2 boats) to count 2 results from each race, it really requires a team effort to get into podium position. The wind speed continued in the mid teens through the early afternoon and with continual rain it was a tough day for the less experienced sailors. With tide restrictions the Mixed Fleet boats managed 2 races each (4 starts across 2 flights).

St Fintans 1st
At the end of the day when PY handicaps were applied, team scores added, and discards applied Gonzaga and St Fintans, Sutton were tied on 31 points with St Fintans taking the Conor Nolan Trophy on a count-back. Blackrock College were 3rd, Santa Sabina 4th and Belvedere College 5th.
The Individual Trophy went to Ewan McMahon (Blackrock College) with Conor Twohig & Brian Sheehy 2nd just ahead of Aoife Hopkins.

1st St Fintans, Sutton (Conor Twohig & Brian Sheehy, Darragh Kelly, Oscar Reynolds)
2nd Gonzaga (Guy Boggan, Patrick Coyle, Alex Start & Luke Beatty)
3rd Blackrock College (Ewan McMahon, Mark O’Connor, Patrick Riordan)


Inner Optimist
On the inner Optimist course and without having to worry about handicaps, Sutton Dinghy Club PRO Paul Kavanagh put the 41 boat fleet through 3 tough races. With steady 15kt breeze the youngsters enjoyed close racing. With pressure to complete a 3rd race, PK resorted to a black flag start following a couple of general recalls. The experienced Opi sailors kept their noses clean and young Tom Higgins (Gonzaga) took the Individual prize from Dylan O’Grady & Sam Crawford (both Belvedere College). A superb team effort saw St Fintans National School hold off Belvedere College A and Belvedere College B to take the Davidson Memorial Trophy.

1st St Fintans National School (H Turvey, E McMahon, R Lacey)
2nd Belvedere College A (S Crawford, B McDonald)
3rd Belvedere College B (D O’Grady, C Waddilove).

Congratulations to all Belvedere Students involved.

Full results here